Tea for two- Festival of Creative Ageing

Well, we did it- performed in a community dance project live on-stage this evening..


And I was delighted to see I was not the oldest in the cast when we checked in to the Platform theatre in Easterhouse, Glasgow.

( This forms part of Luminate, the month long Festival of Creative Ageing).

If I had ever had a wish list never in my wildest dreams did I ever see myself participating in a dance project when in possession of a bus pass.

And I was not alone. We marvelled at the audacity of what we were doing – dancing on stage before a paying audience!

The audience were very generous with their applause. We consoled ourselves that nobody knew us.

But this Saturday it will be different. We will be at the Macrobert arts centre.

Will people turn up who know us? Perish the thought.

Anyway, this young boy, Paul Kenny, age 14, was undoubtedly the star dancer. I reckon he will go far.

Not only was this an intergenerational project but one that mixed up the social classes too. It will be interesting to see what the Glasgow contingent makes of the Macrobert.

As for the show, Bunty and Doris, with a cast of at least 60, it was I have to admit very good thanks to the choreographer Natasha Gilmore of Barrowland Ballet who managed what was a logistical nightmare- co-ordinating so many people of different ages and different abilities into a cohesive show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.