WeeChris

By WeeChris

Behold the noble labourer with his heavy burden

They have nearly finished building a new Premier Inn in Canterbury. My breath is not bated.

I wanted to be "a man who digs the road" when I was young, then later, "a fireman," "a man who mends the television," and "a building man." I still admire people who make or do things. Most jobs now seem to involve paper and pixels alone. Here today gone tomorrow, chaff.

Today was my half-day and for once I got away on time. Since leaving work I have; had lunch, taken lots of photos, walked the dogs, been to the gym, cooked and eaten tea - spaghetti with puttanesca sauce (with help from Nigel Slater), been to my sculpture class and, most recently, drunk a very refreshing can of cold Kronenbourg 1664. I feel I used my time well (not always the case).

The dogs are itching for another walk, so I'll sign off now and do that before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.