From strength comes sweetness

The lion with bees,
Heralds viscous gold nectar.
From strength comes sweetness.


The labels for Lyles Golden Syrup haven't changed for as long as I can remember, even though the containers may have.....I have often wondered where the lion with flies/bees around it came from .... whether it was a deliberate trademark, or the result of bad printing which became accepted....
... so today I looked it up:

In 1904, the “lion and bees” tin was registered as Lyle’s trademark. The design comes from Abram Lyle’s religious beliefs: it’s a reference to a story in the Old Testament, in which Samson killed a lion, then saw that bees had formed a honeycomb in the lion’s carcass. The bible references Samson’s words that also feature on the tin “Out of the strong came forth sweetness”. The logo and design remain unchanged today.

What a revelation .... their strapline could equally be "leaving sticky rings on shelves for over 100 years...".

I applaud the fact that they have kept the same trademark and label design ... it is instantly comforting.

Why was I having golden syrup I hear you ask (you were asking weren't you)? Because there was no honey to put in my porridge, that's why. And why was I having porridge at 8pm - because I have been poorly with a sicky and other end bug and this was all I felt like eating.

Feeling slightly more human now thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.