Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Every Day Counts

We left the pooches in the crates at the house and walked to downtown to stroll through the "antique show" that was happening today. This was the first time that we've been in Cayucos when the street has been closed to traffic and some type of open air event is happening. We spent an hour or two walking through and lookey-louing, but didn't find anything that we needed to have.

Mostly we've done a lot of talking today about our friend ArlaJean whose husband, Dan, died this past Thursday evening from (we think) a heart attack.

Several years ago when Dan & Jeanne were thinking of moving back to California they made a stop in Southern California to see family and friends. We were fortunate enough to get to tag-a-long for a meal with all of them and then later that evening the two of them came to our house to visit.

That evening I posted on my Blipfoto page about our time with Dan & Jean. I am so glad I did. I've always believed in keeping a journal. It's difficult to ask my students to do it if I am not doing it. So 5 years ago, I started a "one-photo-a-day-with-message journal," because everyday is worth saving; some days are more significant than others, somedays more sad than others, some more insightful than others. So back in March 2010 I captured these thoughts about our "Forever Friends" DanandArla Ramsay and I am so glad I did because Dan's death this past Thursday, has rocked our world but these recorded memories of them are sweet:

"Sunday 7 March 2010: Friends are Forever"


Good night from the land of grief and the home of hope.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.