Anneli

By Anneli

Determined suitor

I went outside this morning to see what I could capture as the sun was rising. Well something totally unexpected unfolded before my eyes: a buck deer courting a doe. She came right to the yard and ate birdseed out of the feeder! (Note: have to hang that higher) We seldom see the bucks, but during mating season they seem to throw all caution aside; where the lady goes, he follows. I kept an eye on them for a long time, really REALLY wishing I had a better camera, bigger lens , something... Then another buck showed up, a younger one with spiked horns. The original suitor just turned to face him and that was enough to cause a retreat. Eventually the couple wandered off to the old orchard next door, the young challenger was left here by himself. So thankful for what I saw!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.