Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

The Riverbank

It was great to get out with the dogs very early this morning. The early light was very lovely at the start of our trek. The Californian Poppies were still asleep with their petals tightly furled. I wonder if anyone has worked out why some flowers furl up their petals at night. I noticed that even the different types of dandelions had their tiny petals all closed up this morning. I suppose the flowers must instinctively know that there are no bees and other insects out and about at times of darkness and when the days are cloudy. How do they know? Perhaps I should ask Prince Charles. He seems to have a great interest in the language of plants.
Gypsy can be seen part way down the bank. She is having a bit of a scratch even though she has no fleas at present…none that I know of anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.