One Day Like This

By sennema

Take me home, country roads

Taking a little detour through pastoral Groningen because baby needs more sleep than the 20 minute ride will grant her, I realize I'm missing the space, emptiness and horizons of the region I grew up in. Right now I'm sitting in my car at the side of a road that's so narrow two cars hardly can pass each other. You have to slow down and nod or wave and acknowldege the other driver's existence. It is community, it is intimacy I hardly recognize in city life. Or is it just melancholy?

It gets me thinking about my need to discard stuff as I've been doing for the last 23 days. (I didn't have the time to Blip all of them, but I've been keeping up and even did some throwing away in advance for the days I would be gone). When a peaceful environment lacks in the outside world, it is of more importance to have harmony and peace inside your home, head and heart. It might sound queezy, but this really struck me since L. is in my life. Big part of this ideal is making sure I hold on to the important stuff and let go of the stuff that drains value, time and energy.

Oh my goodness, existentialism in the polder.

Happy birthday sis! X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.