DDW

By DDW

My Grandfather's Clock

"My grandfather's clock was too large for the shelf
So it stood ninety years on the floor
It was taller by half than the old man himself
Though it weighed not a pennyweight more

It was bought on the morn of the day that he was born
And was always his treasure and pride
But it stopped, short never to go again
When the old man died."



Today's topic is "Motion" but there is no motion whatsoever in this lovely old Scottish clock. My father collected grandfather, or long case clocks, and at one time owned a total of four of them. He carefully tended and wound them, and my childhood home was filled with pealing bells, dings and bongs every hour.

When Dad died, I inherited this treasure. I remember it had a really beautiful, delicate, and elaborate chime back in the day, however a trip across the Atlantic Ocean, and years of living with someone who doesn't know what she's doing when it comes to maintaining old clocks has stopped its movement. The pendulum no longer swings, and the weights hang motionless inside the case. One day, I hope to have it restored to its former working glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.