The Big Swirl!

The final day of Salisbury Fair 2013 saw even more people - and for me, like the previous two Blips, developing ideas that I tried last year.

When they say that it's a family event, that, of course, means babies in buggies which have to compete for every crowded space, so what I said about tripods on Monday would be even more applicable tonight. A clear evening, compared to yesterday's onset of storms, obviously brought everybody out.

So, again, a handheld exposure (2 seconds) but with the help of a VR (vibration reduction) lens, my Nikkor 16-85mm, as it my widest lens with VR.

Like the link in yesterday's Blip, this is a zoom and twirl - the ferris wheel twirls and the photographer zooms the lens - in this case I zoomed in at the start and quickly zoomed out, to the lens' widest setting, which managed to get almost all of the big wheel in the frame.

Naturally I did a few, this possibly my favourite. Essential to look LARGE

EXIF data will always show the lens setting at the start of the exposure, though more of the exposure was at 16mm, not what is shown. And as in my lecture about exposure on Monday, always shoot on manual, once the exposure has been tried and got. Set your shutter speed and then change brightness by aperture. You will NOT need a fast lens for this type of shot and I suggest a lesser-ranging zoom is easier to handle and zoom smoothly handheld during a longish exposure like this.

I have to thank everyone who liked my circular fisheye Blip of yesterday. It got within shouting distance of the top spot in the Spotlights - much appreciated! The Salisbury Journal will feature it next week, as a reader picture. The chief photographer loved it. The organisers of the Fair, the City Council also asked for it.

And, I've just noticed that Blipfoto HQ have featured it also on Facebook and Twitter - so they must like it too!

So, that's the end of the Fair, Blipping wise, for another year. I'm rather happy with my three efforts and I could have put up many more - the possibilities are numerous, so when your local one comes to town, take the tips and get some great photos!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.