I'm sure this journal should have been called Turbine Alley or something like, but sometimes quite often I can't resist them.

It's still warm here, which is quite unusual as in previous years we've been lighting the fire every single evening for almost a month by now, and the forecast is for it to get slightly warmer over the next week.

I had an appointment with the Dermatology department at the local hospital this afternoon. The good news is that the small, slightly flaky patch of skin at the side of my nose is not actually cancerous, although it could be pre-cancerous, but the bad news is that she sprayed it with liquid nitrogen and so my nose will look a mess for a week or so, but it's a small price to pay.

It's not surprising that I've got some sun damaged skin, I'm fair haired/skinned and the effect of the sun is cumulative. As a child I did get sun-burned almost every summer, sun creams weren't very common in those days and I can remember having calamine lotion applied to my back to cool it. Now, living in sunny Spain, I apply F30 every day, but usually only to my face except if we go to the beach, and so I think I should do more to protect my skin and ought to keep a watchful eye on it. Probably most of the damage is already done but skin cancer is treatable if caught early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.