KatGirl

By katgirl

All you need is love

That is my theme for the day. And please add some common sense and intelligence, too.

Bob's beloved Dr was off today. His stand-in declared that Bob's leg is swollen to twice its size to by Lyme Disease. She only looked at his leg. No physical exam (not even a listen to his lungs even though he is getting over the croup), no lab tests. Just 21 days of antibiotics. I am repeating this mantra: I am a veterinarian. I am not a pediatrician. I am not a pediatrician. And hoping the antibiotics work.

But the real event today was the Health Care Town Hall held by our local congressman, John Hall. Many of our federal legislators have spent their vacations hosting forums for their constituents to learn more about and ask questions regarding Obama's proposed health care overhaul. A large number of these forums have been dominated by angry, raucous opponents who barely allow their representative to speak. Unfortunately, this forum was not much different. The moderator did his best to keep the crowd at bay. And Mr. Hall did an admirable job of handling the crowd with patience and answering every question intelligently (no matter the venom with which the question was asked).

My opinion on this topic is no secret. My health care costs, even with insurance, are a huge burden to our family. Yet, I am fortunate. My education allows me to negotiate our health care system more adeptly than most. And I have a flexible job with access to phone, fax, and internet. I found these to be essential when I researched and applied for more affordable insurance for our family AND when I needed approval of an expensive treatment by my insurance company. If obtaining and keeping affordable health insurance has been so difficult for our family, what about the 46 million Americans without insurance or the many more who are underinsured (as we once were)? How can they hope to get out of their situation?

And the irony here is that without the health care made available to me by my insurance, I would be unable to work. Our savings would be demolished. And the government would likely end up covering my medical care. Surely, even the most vociferous opponent to the legislation would not want that to happen to me or any other American. But don't they realize that we ALL pay for our uninsured one way or another?

Feel free to offer your opinion. I am getting tougher every day. I can take it.

By the way, the heart shape in this sunflower is real. Bob's teachers pointed it out to me this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.