The second half of life..

By twigs

Skeletal remains

At the end of last summer I found a pile of poppies that had been uprooted and dumped down at the local pond. I decided to try an experiment and see if I could grow some poppies from the seeds so I 'harvested' heaps of the seed heads and took them home.

I put them in a tray to dry out and, as you do, forgot all about them until about 2 months ago! Having found the (by now slightly mouldering specimens!) in the garage I took them outside and dispersed them freely around the plot at the bottom of the garden.

Today I chanced upon one of the now skeletal remains of one seed head in the garden. I'm guessing that one of 2 things will happen come summer......

Either none of the seeds will produce a single plant OR I will be inundated with so many poppies that will swamp everything else in the garden and I shall curse my 'bright' idea!!

Time will tell.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.