How many photos have I taken of Half Dome over the past forty years? And for that matter, how many times have I photographed milkweed dancing in the meadow? Ah, but this is the first time I have got them both in the same frame!

(I do have a project in mind to resurrect all my Yosemite photos and... do what exactly? I thought it might be interesting to see how things have changed over the years--what has been affected by flood and storm and age. Stay tuned, but no breath-holding please.)

I had a lovely easy day in Yosemite Valley, sitting in camp and watching the light change on the mountains, eating lunch by the river and trying to understand about reflections. Angles have been explained to me countless times, but I still don't get how that far-away dome is also right here at my feet.

I rode my bike on the flat trails in and out of various climate zones, and the very best part was getting rained on by falling leaves tumbling from the trees. Shimmering bits of color all around me, just as an unusually balmy breeze came off the meadow. Like being in a snow globe without the vertigo.

Mr S is off on a more rigorous adventure, hiking miles up the Mist Trail. We'll compare notes as we cook dinner, with the mountain watching over us and saying grace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.