sleepyduck

By sleepyduck

Edinburgh Cameras

I've been thinking about this blip for a while. It seemed appropriate to post it today, following yesterday's blip of Grays of George Street.

This is 55 Lothian Road, formerly the site of Edinburgh Cameras. I can't remember how long it is since Edinburgh Cameras closed its doors: maybe 10 years, maybe more. They still seem to have a vestigial online presence, but that's not the point.

In its heyday, Edinburgh Cameras was a fine place. All the best toys were on the ground floor: Leica, Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Minolta, Hasselbald, Rollei and probably a few more I can't remember. Darkroom consumables and "professional" film were on the first floor: that's where I used to buy my Tri-X and Rodinal and Record Rapid. I think the shop may have extended up to the second and possibly third floors, but I can't remember what was up there.

Now, we only have one city centre photo store: Jessops. I don't know how long they will last, given their financial troubles over the past year or two. There's also a branch of Calumet off Bonnington Road, but that's off the beaten track for me and I've never been there.

This may develop into a wee series of places that used to be photo shops. GD Young at Haymarket... Lizars (who seem to have stopped selling photo gear a while back)... that funny wee shop off St Andrews Square... Elena Mae on Princes Street (but I can't remember exactly where they were)... that great shop at Charing Cross in Glasgow (can't remember its name)...

All very sad.

Incidentally, the reflection at the left of the shot demonstrates my umbrella/camera/cigarette balancing trick :-)

Almost the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.