That's Life!

By Agan

Time And Place . .

Went to watch the Toronto Argonauts play Winnipeg Blue Bombers at the Skydome or whatever it's now called tonight. Staggering out three hours later, I can say with authority that Canadian Football is the most boring sport devised by man or beast. It seems that for every 20 seconds of play, there's a minute of break time, during which players are reassigned, yards are measured and re-measured and complete team line-ups change as Offense is changed to Attack. Ad infinitum.

Towards the end of the third quarter, the game clock said nine minutes remained. I timed those nine minutes of play. When the whistle finally blew for the end, 30 minutes of real time had elapsed. Wow, my first experience of time moving backwards.

Then, a eureka moment - if I stay another hour, I'll be a year younger. Nah. Instead I left 10 minutes before the end of the game and preserved my sanity . . . . . .

PS The Argos won 36-21 or something like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.