Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Mowers

Today's literary walk took me up the Ystrad Valley, past the now empty North Wales Hospital and Lawnt to the ruined cottage which was once the residence of Dr. Johnson when he visited these parts.

I then looped up past Gwaynynog, where Beatrix Potter visited her uncle, and drew on the walled garden as her inspiration for Mr McGregor's garden in Peter Rabbit. Then it was over fields back into Denbigh, where I mooched about taking pictures of all the things that I didn't notice in my teenage years when I lived here.

It's milder over here in the Vale of Clwyd, so there was still a bit of butterfly activity: a Small White, two Speckled Wood and three Red Admirals seen at various points on the walk.

These two rusting Massey Harris mowers were lying at the side of a meadow along my route. I'm not sure of their age, but must at least pre-date the merger with Ferguson which happened in 1953. Maker's marks can be seen if viewed large. Any experts in old farm machinery (yes, that's you @ceridwen) may wish to date these with more certainty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.