EarlsSeat

By EarlsSeat

A Glaswegian Merchants Statement

This is my space bought and paid for as I am a successful Glasgow Merchant and you must “ken” this for at least 240 years! Donald MacDonald Merch in Glasgow 1773.

I went for my interview for Glasgow Commonwealth games volunteer in the "Merchant City" and on the way back I found the Ramshorn Cementary..."The cemetery was formed 1719-20, the first burial dates from 1719, and the last 1903. Formerly known as North-West Parish Kirk and St. David's, the church was built in 1824. The stones are either fixed to the boundary wall or laid flat on the ground and commemorate many of the merchants who lived and worked in this area at that time. This was the prosperous West End of Glasgow and the place to be buried in Georgian times."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.