Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

In school

In the next frame, he's looking back at the girls. It seems Mr Verde has his hands full in keeping him on track.

Reuben's loving school and doing well with the curriculum. It's really the first time that he's been in a mainstream environment and I'm proud of how well he's doing. He particularly loves music class. I just wonder what goes on in his incredible mind, what is he thinking when he sits back and looks on at life moving at such a pace around him.

He's made many friends at school in the last month. I see them walk alongside him in the playground or calling his name. I wonder why it surprises me. Probably because he's never been in a typically developing group of kids by himself before. And he's now one of them,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.