I Still Remember

Splintered October: Images From A Broken Mind #26

I Still Remember - Gary Numan

Look at me I'm crying
I wish my tears would show
I'm surrounded by a room
That I've been in for years

How can they do this
How can they do this to me
How can they do this to me again

Have you seen all the pictures
Have you seen things they do
Please help me
Love doesn't live here
Take a good look and cry

I remember

I'm broken
And don't hurt and show
No one can hear
Time runs out
Wont someone come
All that I need is you

Look at me I'm dying


Numan went back to The Fury for his next single. He re-recorded the song I Still Remember with new lyrics for a charity single with all money raised donated to the R.S.P.C.A. A lifelong animal lover and supporter of animal protection charities, Numan was deeply affected by the B.B.C. documentary Animal Watch. So the B.B.C. in all its wisdom banned the song and the video on the grounds that it was "too upsetting." Well, isn't that the point? I'm sure the animals that could have been helped with that money would understand the B.B.C. not wishing to upset its viewers.

Anyway, I still remember my dear departed dog Chappie. He must have been with our family for at least twelve years and a more loyal, patient and sweet-natured dog you couldn't imagine. Here he is with me and my younger brother wearing the Planet of the Apes masks we received for Christmas. Rest in peace, Chappie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.