Birch wood

I can never quite decide on my favourite tree but the birch must be a strong contender. They have fresh green leaves in spring (and smell good), glow in the autumn and are graceful all year round.
The sun shone this morning and after parkrun I wanted to do 2 things - climb a hill and see more birch trees before the leaves were blown away. (We saw quite a lot last week and my blip last Saturday had them as the only strong colour in an overcast landscape).
The best place to combine the 2 not too far away was Glen Esk and we were not disappointed - sun shining through the trees on the way and a short energetic hillwalk with expansive views (though unfortunately the sun had largely gone by then).
There were none of the tree pics I wouldn't have been happy to blip but I think this is my favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.