Arpoador Point, Rio de Janeiro

I could have gone for other titles for this shot of street kids from the Rio favelas coming out the sea at Arpoador point after a cooling 'dook'. 'The Haves And Have Nots' was a possibility to contrast these poor boys with the owners of the surf boards that they don't have the where-with-all to own (not yet anyway), or 'Four Boys, Seven Legs' to highlight an even more extreme state of 'not having' (see the third boy from the left), but I didn't want to distract from the whole scene.

And it was whole. I could also have titled it, 'I'm Ok, You're Ok' as the young lad with the missing limb simply went about like the rest of his pals, including clambering up the sand bags with leaps and hops to the promenade and begging with the rest of them at the top beside the corn-on-the-cob stalls.

Whatever the title, he was quite inspiring and I wish him, and all of them, the very best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.