East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Grey Teal

Sometimes I find Sundays here can be very boring but I had a lovely day today - first we had a very leisurely Sunday breakfast of grilled bacon, tomatoes and eggs (which I did not cook), but I did make the coffee:)
We then decided to drive down to Coffs Harbour for the day and go to to the Leisure Show that was on - and looked at lots of caravans and new cars. Still no decisions made though! We had a lovely lunch and then headed home but took a bit of a detour down a few dirt roads as we got closer to home. We found a beautiful area which we had no idea existed despite having lived here for 25 years!! Lots of amazing bird life on a little creek which is dry in parts but beautiful where there is water. I took lots of photos but decided on this one of the Grey Teals - they are a very plain brown speckled duck until they take off and you see their amazing colours on the wing. Please go large and it might show the colours better.I have added another shot of them in Blipfolio as well as it shows the narrow white wing stripe that distinguishes them from the Chestnut Teals (or so my bird book tells me). I hope every one has had a great weekend.
Grey Teal showing white wing stripe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.