Sunday reconstitutional

After posting yesterday's photo, a friend got in touch and asked whether I had any pictures of the actual road sign 'Constitution Street' as this would be useful for a project he was working on. I said not, but that I would try to procure some today. So back down the street we went this morning, but this time I decided to blip a 'working' church, South Leith Parish Church which has a long and venerable history.

I've dropboxed the photos of the street signs to my friend, but added a bonus of some pictures of Parliament Street. I've often wondered how this street got its name (it certainly doesn't look very parliamentary today...), but according to this page it's where the Council Chamber of the Regents of Scotland was located around the time of the Reformation, and this long disappeared building was significant during the Marian Civil War from 1568-1573.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.