Croft16

By Croft16

Winters here..

At least it feels like it, when it's getting dark at five o' clock.

A lovely start to the day, but some heavy showers developing. Not a lot of wind, unlike down south later.

Decided to start on the "northern" hayloft, at the far end of the ruin. Big problem is that this has been used as a storage area, so the first part of the job was to clear it. Bits of wood have been sorted, some to keep, some for kindling, and some which I can't be bothered to cut up and will burn on a bonfire. Need a good fire to burn all the weeds and tattie tops.. Anyway, cleared the top of the hayloft, which involved clearing underneath to find a home for the higher stuff.. Logistics..

The pic is of the first job to do, replace the lintel with a concrete one. The stonework above has previously been poorly repaired, and is held together with cement. I'll try and preserve as much stone as I can, but if it drops, I'll rebuild. You might make out a green brush that I've placed in the hole where I removed a joist. It was rotten at the ends, and well eaten away with worm and wear. I'll have another lintel to do later, above the "cupboard" in the corner. I can't get to that until I totaly remove the present hayloft..

Jobs for the winter months..

Hoping the storm doesn't do too much damage to those living down south..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.