unheralded

On a train, down a mine, somewhere small or confined,
where your means of escape are restricted...
There's no café or shop or work-place or bus-stop
where this foulness cannot be inflicted.

Whilst some weigh every word, or are seen but not heard
until asked their opinion or news...
Some give others no choice but to hearken their voice,
loudly spouting to all all their views.

With own trumpet blowing and greatly off-showing
and civilised volumes exceeded,
with citations sparse, bollocks leaps from their arse,
with nary a query conceded...

*****

I AM BETTER.

I AM BETTER.

"Th..."

I AM BETTER.

"..."

I AM THE BEST AT BEING A CONE.

"Wh..."

I AM BETTER THAN ALL OTHER CONES.
Through repetition, truth.
THROUGH VOLUME, EMPHASIS.

"B..."

I AM BETTER. YOU SHUT UP.

I AM HIGHER UP THAN ALL THE REST OF YOU.
I AM MORE ELEVATED.
SUPERIOR.
BETTER.


"J..."

GREATER HEIGHT EQUALS GREATER BETTERNESS.
POSSESSION OF GREATER HEIGHT DENOTES SUPERIORITY.
THUS IS THE LOGICAL CERTAINTY OF MY MAGNIFICENCE.


"May I speak?"

PAH. You may try, but nothing you say can refute my superitude.

"We have a job to do here, yes?"

MY PURPOSE IS GREATER.

"But we're here to keep this road blocked, right?"

I AM BETTER AT IT THAN YOU.

"Why?"

I HAVE GREATER HEIGHT, so am MUCH BETTER.

"But you're just sitting on the kerb, you're the standard height, as are we all."

I AM HIGHER. I AM BETTER. You shall not vanquish me with your PITIFUL PHYSICAL FACTS, in which I am anyway far too disinterested to pay any heed or even listen to with my important ears.

"But you'd be far more effective at helping block the road if you were actually on the road, as are we."

But I am HIGHER UP. I am MORE NOTICEABLE.

"You've made a gap in the line of cones which was put here specifically to..."

SPECIFICS? PAH!

"But someone might try to..."

THEORETICALS? PAH!

"Aren't you concerned that some..."

I am CONCERNED only about GREATER THINGS.
Not paltry SPECIFIC PURPOSES or THEORETICAL CATASTROPHIC BUT AVOIDABLE MISHAP.
SULLY MY ENORMOUS MIND NOT with your legitimate concerns.


"So you'll j..."

ANYWAY I AM BUSY SO GO AWAY.
I HAVE IMPORTANT BUSINESS TO ATTEND TO which will probably be a complete waste of my IMPORTANT TIME.


"What important business?"

IMPORTANT IMPORTANT BUSINESSY BUSINESS.
IF you MATTERED, you would know.


"..."

IMPORTANT.

"..."

I AM VERY IMPORTANT.

"..."

DIDN'T YOU HEAR ME I SAID I'M VERY IMPORTANT.

*****

If the need to impress is indulged to excess
the impression delivered is vile.
If a big droning voice is the weapon of choice
please ensure that the content's worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.