Scarlett O'Hara

By scarlett

Lovely warm morning, where I took tea on the swing seat. Bliss.

It clouded over so I went off to the Sywell Aerodrome to have a mooch around the museum. There are some wonderful exhibits, an Andersen Shelter, a fabulous 1940's kitchen, complete with a stocked larder. There were lots of bombs, aircraft bits and peices and lots of uniforms from UK, US, Germany and Italy. Fascinating.

This is the tail turret of a 1944 Halifax Bomber. One of my favourite films is 'Memphis Belle' and this absolutley bought home to me how frightening - but also exciting - it must have for those boys in those turrets. It's an incredibly tight fit and must have been extremely uncomfortable for any length of time.

A great place, I shall go again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.