middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Storefront

This shot is another one that I’ve ridden past for the last few years whilst working from St Vincent’s Hospital in Fitzroy (Not to be confused with yesterdays shot of Sunshine Hospital where I also work). This beautiful building was clearly once a milk bar or store of some kind as shown from the paint job, and there was even more bits of old sign with things like ‘Cigarettes’ and ‘Chocolate’ written. Clearly advertising the fact that this store had all the things a growing body needs!

The building is now a rather nice house from what I can tell, and has been somewhat modernised with the timber work you can see in the top right corner. I love the idea that someone was sanding back the paint and found these old adverts underneath, clearly from a time when adverts were actually just painted on the side of the store! What a lovely find and a good idea to keep them, showing a bit of history, something Australia seems to lack sometimes unless you’re in old gold rush territory, or out in the outback.

Either way as I was riding to work I decided that on my way back I would snap this wall and make it my blip, and I’m pretty glad that I did.

-Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.