DonnaWanna

By DonnaWanna

Cactus Blooms

I have another outdoor area that I really dont get to spend much time in. Its at the opposite end of the aparment to the rooftop garden and is like a lovely hidden patio and we sometimes have dinner out there. It's very pleasant on a winters day as its sheltered, but it gets very hot in summer as the afternoon sun shines right in on it from just after midday until sundown.

I have a few small potted trees and other plants scattered around and a couple of nice cactus plants. I often forget to water them on the weekend and then eventually remember during the week which is fine during the winter months but not when the weather warms up.

After quite a warm 30 degree day I remembered them all thirsting out there and headed out after work to remedy the situation. As I went along with the watering can I noticed a few things blooming and then I came to this sweet little cactus and saw that it had almost a double ring of blooms erupting in a circle all around it!

Out came the macro of course :) I know its quite hard to see the blooms, they are the pink blobs but I was quite taken with this shot because I captured those drops of water sitting in amongst the cactus hairs and loved them :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.