Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Horsing around

This is the calm after our bit of the storm. I didn't think we'd had it too bad, in the end, but when I went out briefly at lunchtime - mostly in rain, the odd flash of sun - I was amazed how many branches/trees were down. Still, this is a scene of complete peace, in Wonston Churchyard. Apologies if you find the symbolism a tad rich, I think I do myself, but I couldn't resist blipping (what I think is) this horse mushroom under its horse chestnut tree.

So the trees get toppled, but the fungi remain unaware (mind you, one that wasn't would be truly spooky). This beauty was at least 8 inches across, maybe more, a real whopper. And its gills were dark. If anyone else has more of an idea what kind of fungi it is, I'd really like to hear.

Hope your day's good xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.