a little here and there

It's certainly very interesting going through some of my old pictures. I'd thought that looking through, picking out and reprocessing the digital images would be much quicker and easier than poking through the big box of film prints, scanning and cleaning them up then attempting to work out when they were taken. I'd forgotten quite how shite my first digital camera was; even the excuses of having a monitor which struggled to show 1024*768 as the only alternative method of viewing the pictures after reviewing them on the extremely small screen on the camera and the newness and excitingness of viewing photographs I'd taken on a computer screen (previously only achievable by sneaking into the reprographics room in the James Clerk Maxwell building with a few prints and floppy disks) don't seem enough to pardon the extremely low quality of my pictures from the back end of 2002. Though I've been disappointed in the past when poking through old prints and finding that I've remembered the view or event rather than the photograph (which is often less well-focussed and exposed than the image in my mind) disappointment is not as bad as near-shuddering distaste. No wonder that when I finally worked back up to SLR level the clear and sharp view through a real optical viewfinder led to a noticeable feeling of relief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.