Storm brewing?

.deppilbkcaB

As it happens it, totally, missed us and this morning (Mon) there was barely a twig moving, however we have had a fair bit of wet:-

At breakfast Friday            0.2” =  5mm
At breakfast Saturday        0.3” =  8mm
At breakfast Sunday                  1.0” = 25mm
Since then (22:00) another 0.5” = 12mm

I remember Mam had a copy of  "The Farmers' Prayer" way back when. It must have had its effect upon the forming brain as I can remember all bar the bit in the gap. I tried an old Member of the Lakeland Dialect Society But I'm sorry to say "Noah Vale" is alive and well. "Girrit, girrit?"

I contacted him to Noah Vale ;¬))

It ran thus:- Can you read it? And I do NOT mean YOU you silly £@$%^&*!!
Do NOT query spelling it's my best guess at phonetic.

Fergi me Lword if Ah complain,
bit we hev hed ineuff o' rain.
It's bi see wet this many a day
at sure ineuff it's spoilin t'hay.

Bit Lword, if Thoo hez Meead thee mind
t' pooer it doon as Thoo'rt inclined,
See thick, and which at sek a rate is
just pooer it in amang me taties.

Ur on me cworn Lword let it faw,
fer t'straw it's short an t'ears are smaw.
Ur on me turnips pelt it in
Oh Lword Thoo sees they're varra thin.

Thur's two lines here at Ah fergit,
Ah've put this in t'mek it fit.
Bit hod Thee hand O Lword Ah pray
An divn't gah an spoil me hay.

ANY legal suggestions accepted.

To "Imwott" I don't suppose it's still under the lid of the Tea Caddy? Where she kept it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.