Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Bike People

This has been a Portland icon for as long as I can remember. These charming cyclists sit atop River City Bicycles, just east of the Willamette River - one of many, many bike shops in Portland.

The artist is Matt Cartwright, a local metal and wood artist. I like what he says about his art on his website:

Often I will use a recycled material because I am inspired by it's normal use. I am most prolific with metal, but I also use just about any new, used or surplus material that I may encounter. I like to see how things can be rearranged or combined to develop new parameters for thought.

I enjoy any project that allows me to work in a scale and place with which people can interact.


MLL! (Must Look Large)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.