zebra

By zebra

The morning jam

I saw the cars slowing down and being directed to join a feeder lane running parallel to the main highway. Obviously there was a problem up the road. Two lanes quickly became five or six and I, in the sixth lane, did the typical Kenyan thing and made my way to the far right lane using nothing but nerves of steel and 'kifua' [literally means 'chest' ...but here it is an obnoxious driver who cares nothing of manners or courtesy only his final destination].

Apparently a huge billboard had collapsed. Since we have no zoning or visual pollution legislation, the billboards can be as big as a house. So when they fall across a huge highway, you can imagine the nightmare it can cause. As a result, you find that those on public transport were dropped quite a ways away from their final destination so they had to walk the rest of the way.

Many, however, usually walk from the very large 'informal settlement' up the road on their way to work. Wealth disparity...I think we are like number two or three in the world where the gap between the rich and poor is embarrassingly wide. Appalling, really, but what to do.

All sorts of optimism today! Oh...and I found my photo in the paper yesterday. One of the newspaper photographers actually 'blipped' me 'blipping' him. I had a good laugh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.