Pepysman

By Pepysman

A Bumper Bundle...

All three books which I had ordered through Amazon arrived all together today which made it like an early Christmas for me. The heavy tome on the events of 1914 is one of a number of books on the outbreak of the Great War that I am collecting and for which I am clearing space on my shelves.

A recent visit to Thessaloniki reminded me that there was an old book on the subject of the allied occupation of the city during the First World War. This copy originated in a library in Kansas before being acquired by a bookseller in Britain and likewise the third book was in Edinburgh University Library for a time. This last book deals with how Britain was able to organise itself for war in the 18th century in a way that France was not.

They will be read in the order as shown from left to right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.