The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Fallen Waxcap

When I got up today the sun was shining, and the sky was full of cotton wool fluffy clouds so I decided to go to Ebenoe common again to see if the Wax caps were ready to be photographed yet.
I was well pleased with myself, as I managed to find my way there without using the sat nav and to my delight the cricket pitch was dotted with the tell tale yellows and reds of these beautiful little fungi.
Wax caps are associated with unimproved (nutrient poor and unfertillized) short-sword (through grazing or mowing) moss rich and long-established grasslands. Ebenoe is perfect, and I had a wonderful morning in the sun, taking photographs of these little jewels till my heart's content.
So ...today's blip (even though I could have blipped many others) is one of my favourite Wax caps, the Scarlet Wax cap, I would like to say it is Hygrocybe coccinea but to be honest I am not sure, as there are several that look the same. Sadly this one was knocked over when I found it, but it did help as you can see the beautiful gills, as well as the cap.
Enjoy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.