pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Graphic

The recent flurry of comic book related activity in Kendal prompted me to visit the library for the first time in ages to check out their selection of graphic novels.

I was looking to get a broad spectrum of work, so I picked up the few you see pictured here.

I've not got through them all yet, but I am particularly looking forward to getting stuck into Turf as it is written by "that" Jonathan Ross.

Kick Ass 2 was good but the level of violence (albeit fantasy, but I'm not sure that excuses it) depicted was pretty grim to say the least. I've not seen the film yet, but I understand that Jim Carrey (one of the stars) opted not to publicise it because of the violence and the fact that the film was unfortunately released around the time of Sandy Hook.

It's an ongoing debate (and one that I won't get into here) about where we draw the line with violence, but I do feel that we are becoming more and more desensitised to it as writers, filmmakers and artists go to greater lengths to achieve that seemingly much coveted "shock factor".

Think I'll leave this blip here for now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.