Mar In Urbana

By MarMilner

Old Cemetery

Today I drove by the East Lawn Cemetery. This is where my parents and grandparents are buried. I have been visiting this cemetery every since I was a young child. When I was a little girl I remember these beautiful white swans swimming in this little pond on the south side of the cemetery. There was a concrete bench sitting there and I would just sit and watch them swim. That pond has been gone now for many many years. I had always noticed that right to the east of this cemetery there was what I thought was just a much older part of this cemetery. Not so, I found out today this cemetery is actually called the Greenwood-Harvey Cemetery. I never know that. It has such old tombstones in there. I went back in there today and took this picture. Some of the tombstones were dated as early as 1833. I was just fascinated to see these today. I little history here right in front of my eyes all these years and I just never paid much attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.