Dribs and Drabs of 2014

By RodgerEvans01

"Brand New Cadillac" - The Clash (1979)

Drive, drive
My baby drove up in a brand new Cadillac, yes she did
My baby drove up in a brand new Cadillac
She said, "Hey, come here Daddy"
"I ain't never comin' back"
Baby, baby won't you hear my plea?
C'mon sugar, just come on back to me
She said, "Balls to you Big Daddy"
She ain't never coming back!


Much of my early, formative years were spent listening to the angry jingles of punk and alternative rock musicians - the Clash were, and continue to be, one of my favourites. When DDW's challenge of a song title came up today I knew the exact song I was going to choose.

So then I had to find a Cadillac... Luckily, one of the local used car lots has a 2009 SRX for sale. Man, they're ugly!!! If "T" ever really drove up in a "brand new" cadillac, I may have to consider allowing the lyrics to play out...

So with the help of CS6, and a look in the car show vaults of my gearhead alter ego, I was able to take the front end of a '58 Cadillac Eldorado and demonstrate the abomination that new vehicles have become in just a few decades.

I also uploaded a few other caddies to my blip folio...

I also discovered that this is a cover of the original 1959 tune by Blues singer Vince Taylor. Seems doubly appropriate that I had a late 50's Cadillac as part of the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.