The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

National Museum of China

While Ms GW was off having meetings elsewhere in Beijing, I took myself off to the national museum, where I had a jolly wander through all of Chinese history. I found the later stuff quite enlightening. I didn't know, for instance, that we Brits introduced them to the joys of opium. I was also surprised to learn that it's a democracy over here.

The museum itself is gi-normously YUGE! Though, interestingly, most of the space is filled with air. The building itself says a lot about China without the need for artefacts.

I thoroughly loved all the ancient stuff - there was even a bell owned by my new hero, Zheng He. I am now, however, somewhat footsore and need to lie down before dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.