fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Brent High Road

You know how they say owners start looking like the dogs? I wonder whether SatNavs start behaving like their owners?

Certainly mine seems to have picked up on my preference for the road less travelled as, driving from Cambridge to south London today, the SatNav ignored the straightforward attraction of the M25, leaving us cruising along the M11 into London and thence onto the north circular.

I have a mild weakness for both the north and south circulars, probably because I feel that they were abruptly dumped by motorists in favour of the M25. Not that you'd have thought that, today, packed as the road was with traffic, presumably mostly consisting of parents taking their half-termining children out to enjoy the post-storm weather.

I can't stand sitting still in traffic but I was happy enough today as we maintained trundling speed through the bits of London I don't see very often. There were loads of things I'd like to have photographed by I only had the opportunity to take this one as the traffic was stationary for a short while. I like this fine brick building sat on Brent High Road with its old painted adverts. I expect people complained when they first started painting adverts on houses - and I'm pretty sure I would have grumbled about it - but now these fading paintings make me feel nostalgic (probably for a time before I was born!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.