Glee

Beck took this shot of Lloyd Cole at the Glee Club with her iphone and despite my valiant efforts to make it my own by re-photographing it in black and white and dicking about with the contrast I can't make it any better and will have to gracefully cede today's credit. A good gig. I was a bit worried that Mr. Cole had managed to release several albums between 'Don't Get Weird On Me, Babe' in 1991 and his rather fabulous new one, 'Standards', but he did plenty of classic Commotions numbers (I was particularly gratified by a brace of 'Easy Pieces' numbers - 'Perfect Blue', 'Cut Me Down' * and 'Why I Love Country Music') to keep us oldies happy and the ones I didn't know slotted in just fine. He sings them simple with an acoustic ("remodelled as folk songs", thank you, Wikipedia...), his voice is still deep and clear and nuanced, and the set is pefectly balanced so that a couple of hours drifts right by without you noticing the time at all...

(*There are some perfectly good postings of this song is it's recent incarnation on U-toob but I'm afraid I rather liked this bit of classic eighties telly footage!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.