Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Light

Today's Blip is a little tea-light in a red glass. Today it's Deepavali/Diwali, the Hindu festival of light and I wish everybody who celebrates this a very Happy Diwali. Today is also All Saints' Day and it was my father's birthday, had he still lived he would have been 80 today. It's strange to think about that because he will stay 64 for ever in my mind. Through all kind of circumstances we never had a strong bond and I've missed him more as a father during his life than now, but as I get older and closer to him in age there are things that have become clearer.

So a day of contemplation for me, but a festive day for all Hindus everywhere. Tomorrow of course is All Souls' Day, a day on which many remember the life of near and dear ones who died and many a candle will be lit.

Fire and light were some of the sources that helped mankind get further, there is something universally comforting in light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.