November Challenge: Day 01 ....

Something you dislike.

I would like to think that I am a pretty easy going person, but I definitely have my share of dislikes. The one pictured here represents my dislike of having to buy a pair of shoes when all I need is one of them!!

I have chosen this red pair of shoes (which I didn't buy!) because I am going to try to participate in LeeAnn's color challenge as well as DDW's challenge. We will see how long that lasts!

Some of you were wondering how I did this orb photo. So here are the abbreviated instructions. I also used the same technique for yesterday's photo.

Step one: Set your camera on the Aperture setting and set to F11 and use auto focus to focus on your subject. You will need some light in order to set the focus properly. After focusing switch the focus button to manual. This locks down the focus point.

Step two: Switch camera to the Manual setting and set to 25 to 30 second exposure time. This can always be adjusted if too long. Leave camera on manual setting while taking the photo. We will definitely need a tripod.

Step three: You will need compete darkness so that no ambient light filters through. The long exposure time will record all light movement.

Step four: Now have your helper (R helped me!) take the lighted sticks (NOT glow sticks) and swing them in a circle as they walk in a circle. You can also do this step yourself if you don't have anyone to help you with it. It best to start swinging the sticks before you release the shutter and continue until after the 25 to 30 second exposure stops.

We purchased different colored light sticks from Wal-Mart, but they are also available at most home improvement stores.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.