Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

A Wrecked Kayak

The ships that are wrecked at Ōtamahua/Quail Island are an interesting destination for visitors to the island, an inner harbour island, in Lyttelton Harbour, Christchurch. The ships have been sunk here deliberately, and there are about 14 in all, in various stages of rust and decay. This one is the largest and I believe it was a lighter called 'Lyttelton'.

We had a lovely paddle across to the island today, from Cass Bay. A lot rougher and windier than our paddle last weekend, it was thoroughly enjoyable. Am so pleased that I'm able to get out and kayak again! We landed on the far side, at Swimmers Beach and tried to fix a problem with my rudder pedals - and had a drink sitting in the sun while we were at it :) We ended up circumnavigating the island, and were back into a fairly stiff nor-easter on the western side.

The camera is a waterproof Pentax which infuriates me! It's so hard to get a sharp capture with it. I think I'll be taking a camera in a housing next Wednesday, when I go out with the Wednesday Morning Paddlers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.