RunAndrewRun

By RunAndrewRun

Dust as We Are

Running rest-day ...

... and pictured is one of my very favourite poetry collections - it's a wonderful volume, which I'd highly recommend.

Don't think I've blipped Wordsworth yet, so this is a section from The Prelude which is contained within this 1983 volume:


Dust as We Are

Dust as we are, the immortal spirit grows
Like harmony in music; there is a dark
Inscrutable workmanship that reconciles
Discordant elements, makes them cling together
In one society. How strange, that all
The terrors, pains, and early miseries,
Regrets, vexations, lassitudes interfused
Within my mind, should e'er have borne a part,
And that a needful part, in making up
The calm existence that is mine when I
Am worthy of myself! Praise to the end!
Thanks to the means which Nature deigned to employ;
Whether her fearless visitings, or those
That came with soft alarm, like hurtless light
Opening the peaceful clouds; or she would use
Severer interventions, ministry
More palpable, as best might suit her aim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.