Message in a Bottle

We have a very long running radio programme in the UK called ‘Desert Island Discs’. Many good and famous people over the years have been asked to choose 8 records that they would take with them if they were shipwrecked on a desert island and to give reasons for their choices. When I photographed this 'message in a bottle' this morning it started me thinking, ‘What records would I choose and why?’ After a little consideration this is what I came up with:
1) Loving you – Minnie Riperton - for my one true love.
2) Perfect Day – Lou Reed - for all the perfect days I’ve spent with friends.
3) Hallelujah – Leonard Cohen - it makes me cry every time I hear it.
4) The Fool on a Hill – The Beatles - in thanks for being able to see what many others don’t.
5) Streets of London – Ralph McTell - for the homeless person I saw in a cold doorway when I stormed out of the house one Christmas Day.
6) Wind Beneath my Wings – Bette Midler - for all those who have touched my life and inspired me to be strong in times of pain, sorrow and weakness.
7) I’m not in Love – 10cc - for those I have loved but not been ‘in love’ with.
8) Jerusalem – Last Night of the Proms - because I love my country and all that it stands for.

What would your choices be? (Don’t worry, you don’t have to think of 8, but I’d be interested to know what your top 3 soundtracks to your life would be...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.