Anniemay

By Anniemay

Cheerful

Reasons to be Cheerful (Part 3)

Summer, Buddy Holly, the working folly
Good golly Miss Molly and boats
Hammersmith Palais, the Bolshoi Ballet
Jump back in the alley and nanny goats

18-wheeler Scammels, Domenecker camels
All other mammals plus equal votes
Seeing Piccadilly, Fanny Smith and Willy
Being rather silly, and porridge oats

The juice of the carrot, the smile of the parrot
A little drop of claret - anything that rocks
Elvis and Scotty, days when I ain't spotty,
Sitting on the potty - curing smallpox

Something nice to study, phoning up a buddy
Being in my nuddy..................................

I’ve had this song in my head all day. These are just a few of Ian Dury’s “reasons to be cheerful”. It’s quite hard to blip any of them (you really wouldn't want me to do the last one!!) but it made me think that many of the reasons we have to be cheerful are just like that. Just little things that cheer us up as we go about our lives.

Anyway, whatever, all that still leaves a blip to be had..........

Mickey Mouse is always cheerful so here he is, spinning around one of my pencils with a big cheerful grin. Hope you’ve all had a cheerful day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.