Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Happy birthday, dear Laurie!

My sweetie's birthday is today! We celebrated by going to see a live production of Fiddler on the Roof, which was fantastic (Tevye was perfect!). Then we met Kendall for an early yummy dinner of Lebanese food.

Kendall played a role in this gift for Laurie, too. It's a photograph by John Qu, a Portland artist; Laurie and Kendall fell in love with his work when they visited the Chinese Garden last month. When Laurie told me about this photo, I emailed Kendall to see if she'd be willing to pick it up for me; as it turns out, she was going back to the Garden with a friend a couple days later, and the deal was struck! In a clandestine moment last week, she handed the photo off to me.

Detail of the photo here. It is of the Yuan Yang terraces in Yun Nan, China. You can see the scale of the landscape by looking at the trees in the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.