Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Silver Birch, Chasewater

Many thanks for the great comments to yesterday's image and responses on the forum. One point stood out to me and that is that despite the increase in pixels for the D800 it has also been supported by an increase in dynamic range. In many ways this is one of the most important improvements with newer sensors. It's something I use all the time as I often push the limits of the sensor in my photography.

Today I was standing in an open, windswept heathland at Chasewater before dawn. I had selected this tree for it's sensational leaf colour and was just waiting for the sun to rise above the horizon to light it up. These moments give you time to ponder and think and I was reviewing the comments made yesterday. They struck home. The D800 won't be leaving anytime soon. I do know that before I change cameras again I will challenge my 'enthusiasts' tendency to get the next 'best' thing and make sure it meets my needs, not those of the camera manufacturers to make a profit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.