Kelly Cut

It's a beautiful day today
Woke up this morning with sunshine on my face
And since the storm clouds have lifted
I made my way up to the Cut.

This is a view looking west along the Kelly Cut. Which is a narrow 4 mile long non navigable canal, that once fed water from the Kelly Reservoir on the hill behind Wemyss Bay and Crawhin Reservoir on Crawhin Hill near Cornalees to the Compensation Reservoir at Cornalees. This in turn fed The Greenock Cut, which fed water to Greenock for industrial and domestic use.

Built in 1845, the Kelly Aqueduct or (Cut) is less substantial than the Greenock Cut in terms of its construction and footbridges. This is now a heritage trail and a walk of around 6 miles takes you from the Greenock Cut Visitor Centre to the railway station at Wemyss Bay.

This afternoon I will prepare the garnish for my Boeuf Bourguignon dish.

It’s definitely a beautiful day.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.